My Year in Books: 2015

I’ve read quite a lot this year. At the beginning of 2015 I was still an English Literature student, reading an awful lot for my course. Seven months later it was summer and my graduation, after which I embraced reading things from my own reading list again after almost a degree-long hiatus. So here goes:

  1. Favourite book of 2015

This is a close contest between The World According to Garp by John Irving and The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. Both were fantastic! Irving is pretty much my favourite author and my mum got me two more of his books for Christmas so maybe my aim for 2016 will be to read all of his novels! For this reason Garp gets the top spot.

2. Least favourite book of 2015

Unfortunately there were actually quite a few books that I didn’t finish this year because I didn’t enjoy them but I think I really should pick a book that actually read in its entirety. So I’m going to pick The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks – hated it.

3. Most disappointing book

This follows on from least favourite as a book I was expecting to like but I just didn’t enjoy at all. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel was this for me. I ploughed right through to the end but kinda wish I hadn’t bothered.

4. Most read author of 2015

I’ve read several of Barbara Kingsolver’s novels and have enjoyed them all so I now have a couple more of her novels on my bookshelf that are added to my reading list. I’ve also almost read all of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s novels this year; Half of a Yellow Sun is the only one I’ve yet to read and this will definitely happen in 2016!

5. The most thought provoking read

One of my modules for my degree was called ‘Madness, Medicine and Modern Literature’ and we covered representations of ‘madness’ in the early 20th century, from female hysteria to male ‘shell-shock’ and PTSD. One of the texts we studied was The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. It’s really more of a short story but very haunting and an interesting representation that creates a lot of discussion.

6. The book I’ve been meaning to read all year and still haven’t got round to it

Following on from the ‘madness’ module I bought One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kasey in about February but I still haven’t actually got round to reading it yet! In fact I didn’t even taken it off the shelf but I will make the effort in 2016. I do really want to read it!

7. Most unusual book of 2015

Although probably not that unusual, We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler really surprised me and left me thinking about it for quite a while afterwards. Luckily I hadn’t read anything about it beforehand so there were no spoilers (this book has quite a big reveal!). Very well thought-out and something I’d never read about before.

It’s been interesting to look back on the books I’ve read this year – it makes January seem like a very long time ago! One thing I love about my blog is how it makes an ever-growing record of almost all the books I’ve read, like looking back through a diary at what you were doing months ago. It’s nostalgic and nice.

It’ll be good to do this again in a year’s time!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

 

Leave a Reply

