Waiting for exams to be over!

So here I am, only 5 days before my exam, writing a blog post instead of revising. Before resorting to this, I have also done a load of washing, taken the bins out and tidied my room, including cleaning my sink and I may even hoover after I’ve done this. Revision can make me do a lot of things I wouldn’t normally do with such eagerness! To be fair to myself I have been revising the rest of the day and I will make myself do an hour or two more after my tea seen as the exam is now looming closer and closer. So it isn’t really as though I have done nothing…I’m not sure I could say the same for yesterday though.

I’m not going to complain too much about my exam (yes, I only have one and yes, I know I’m very lucky) mainly because I’m in first year and, for my course, the first years grade doesn’t count towards my final degree. So theoretically the worst thing that could happen is that I’ll fail the exam and have to re-sit in August. While this would be a pain, it could be a lot worse, especially seen as I am already going to have to take an exam in August due to missing one a few weeks ago because of having a pneumothorax. Therefore I’m rather ashamed to say that I’m pretty much taking the attitude that as long as I can pass, it doesn’t matter all that much. All in all you can probably conclude that I’m not particularly stressed at the moment (inevitably I will be by the morning of my exam) and I would now like the opportunity to be selfishly smug about not having to worry myself about exams. I apologize to all the other students who are stressing right now, but next year will be a very different story and I will feel your pain when it’s me chained to that desk in the library.

But right now I only have a meagre few weeks left of being a Fresher; I have to enjoy myself while I can!! And I’m doing just that. I probably have too many things planned for this week that don’t involve revision, including going to see The Great Gatsby at the cinema which I wrote about a few weeks ago. I’m also going out for a meal with some friends tomorrow night (totally blowing my student budget) and I spent a considerable amount of time yesterday researching where I might get my hair cut and flicking through hair magazines. That definitely counts as procrastination. I’m also spending probably a little too much time planning what I’m going to do afterwards. My family is coming up to see me at the weekend and then my boyfriend is coming to stay for a week which I am very excited about as I haven’t seen him for over a month, so I’ve spent a lot of time deciding what we’re going to do while they’re here.

I’m looking forward to everyone else finishing their exams too. There are definitely going to be some wild celebrations and we can all enjoy the best parts of uni life with no work to worry about, and most likely spending the last of our student loans, until our accommodation runs out. It sounds pretty idyllic to me. My summer starts in a week’s time and I couldn’t be more excited. Bring it on!

keep-calm-summer-is-coming-11

 

Leave a Reply

